Microsoft Claims OneCare Tells Users About Update Settings Changes

closeThis post was published 11 years 6 months 27 days ago. A number of changes have been made to the site since then, so please contact me if anything is broken or seems wrong.

The saga of the unauthorized updates continues. Microsoft confirmed that the Windows Live OneCare security program does indeed change update settings, but they say users are told during installation. On closer examination of the installer, the note is included in a long, multi-paragraph block of text on one of the installer’s screens, with a button that says not “I agree” but “Next”. This is a big problem for users who don’t pay much attention to EULAs and the like, who will likely just click “Next” without realizing what they are agreeing to (or that they are agreeing to anything at all).

Microsoft has usually been better at creating user interfaces (Windows Vista notwithstanding — oy!); when did they lose their edge? I’m glad I don’t need OneCare; I like to be told before my computer installs something or changes its own settings…

dgw

I am an avid technology and software user, in addition to being reasonably well-versed in CSS, JavaScript, HTML, PHP, Python, and (though it still scares me) Perl. Aside from my technological tendencies, I am also a theatre technician, sound designer, violinist, singer, and actor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail (or subscribe without commenting)

Comments are subject to moderation, and are licensed for display in perpetuity once posted. Learn more.